Be Ready for Government and Defense Contractor work with CMMC Certification. SCS will get you there!

CMMC Maturity Process Progression

Do you know the answers to the below questions with regards to CMMC compliance?

We are here to answer your questions and help you prepare for your Assessment and become certified in time for new DOD contract work. We can work with you to answer these questions and more in preparation for CMMC compliance.​

We are Experienced Compliance Consultants

As CMMC evolves, we continue to actively update ourselves and our clients as the government changes and implements this program. Still, everyone recognizes that the important first step for every company is to educate themselves on what is needed to get ready. We can help you evaluate your environment, define the path to compliance and work with your organization to prepare with a prioritized road-map of the steps you will want to take to ensure compliance and a successful assessment.

Contact us today and let’s discuss your needs and how it makes sense for your company to move forward.

SCS CMMC Services Provide

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is a certification and compliance process developed by the Department of Defense (DoD). It is designed to certify that contractors have the controls in place to protect sensitive data.

Frequently Asked Questions

CMMC Compliance requirements will appear on the requests for information (RFI) process in June 2020 and the requests for proposals (RFP) process in September 2020. Though it will be a couple years before the full framework will be enforced. The first full version of the CMMC framework was published in January 2020, following the publication of several draft versions over the previous few years.
All DoD contractors will eventually have to achieve some level of CMMC certification in order to work on DoD contracts, either as a prime or subcontractor. This will include suppliers and firms at all levels of the supply chain, from manufacturers of defense equipment to small companies holding small amounts of technical data.

CUI is information the Government creates or possesses, or that an entity creates or possesses for or on behalf of the Government, that a law, regulation, or Government-wide policy requires or permits an agency to handle using safeguarding or dissemination controls.


A CUI Registry provides information on the specific categories and subcategories of information that the Executive branch protects. The CUI Registry can be found at: https://www.archives.gov/cui and includes the following organizational index groupings.

CMMC stands for “Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification”. The CMMC will encompass multiple maturity levels that ranges from “Basic Cybersecurity Hygiene” to “Advanced/Progressive”. The intent is to incorporate CMMC into Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement (DFARS) and use it as a requirement for contract award.
DOD is planning to migrate to the new CMMC framework in order to assess and enhance the cybersecurity posture of the Defense Industrial Base (DIB). The CMMC is intended to serve as a verification mechanism to ensure appropriate levels of cybersecurity practices and processes are in place to ensure basic cyber hygiene as well as protect controlled unclassified information (CUI) that resides on the Department’s industry partners’ networks.

Unlike NIST SP 800-171, the CMMC model possesses five levels. Each level consists of practices and processes as well as those specified in lower levels.


In addition to assessing a company’s implementation of cybersecurity practices, the CMMC will also assess the company’s institutionalization of cybersecurity processes.

Let's Get Started

Contact SCS today to learn how we can assist your organization with all your Governance and Compliance needs.